M.K.Ultra – definitely one to watch out for!

21 Mar

Glasgow based band M.K.Ultra describe themselves as an alternative-rock band who formed back in 2010 and have been lucky enough to play at venues such as the famous King Tuts Wah Wah Hut. The band includes Conor Markey on rhythm guitar and vocals, Ciaran Gilbert on lead guitar, Pete Smith on bass and Matthew Turner on drums.

the boys

I have to say, when a friend linked me to their profile I wasn’t sure what to expect but I certainly wasn’t expecting THIS. After about twenty minutes of technical difficulties I managed to get their soundcloud working and was presented with tracks such as ‘Maggie’, ‘Like You’, ‘Love in the Sky’ and ‘Oh No’. If my friend hadn’t told me that they were a local unsigned band I’d have honestly thought they were a professional well-known band and would have rushed to iTunes to buy their album. I’m really impressed!

All the songs sound fairly similar to bands such as Oasis and the Arctic Monkey’s, especially with the (very impressive) guitar solos, especially in ‘Maggie’ and ‘Oh No’ (my personal favourites).  This comes as no surprise as artists such as the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, The Doors and Primal Scream are all listed in the ‘artists we also like’ on their facebook page – all of whom seem to have provided some kind of influence to their music.

And there’s never a quiet moment for the band! Their Facebook page is full of upcoming gig dates and the band seem to be pretty busy with various events including playing at Club 520 on Sauchiehall Street last year, played as guests at the Annie Stevenson gig last October and played at Captains Rest last week.

I am completely and utterly bowled over by their music and I can’t believe they’ve not already been snapped up by a recording company! Definitely one to watch out for – go and listen NOW! They’ll be playing at Stairway on the 10th of April so get yourself down there for a great night! I know I’ll be there.

playing one of their many gigs

Leave a comment